+234 803 851 4090, +234 908 290 7092, +234 905 646 3036, +234 807 991 7938 centralinfo@noun.edu.ng

Faculty of Social Science

About The Faculty

The Arts and Social Sciences school took off in 2003 with four Units, Arabic and Islamic Studies, French, Christian Theology and English. In 2006/2007, three new units were set up: Criminology and Security Studies, Mass Communication and Peace Studies, and Conflict Resolution. By 2016 the number of units in the school has increased to nine.

The academic nomenclature of this University was changed, and this gave birth to the Faculty of Social Sciences in 2016. The School of Arts and Social Sciences was split into two following the new paradigm shift from the School and Unit system to the Faculty and Department system as part of the reformation agenda.

The Faculty prides itself in the diversity of its programmes which are all highly subscribed to, and the quality of its Academic/Non-teaching Staff and Students.

Vision, Mission and Philosophy

To produce well-informed global citizens equipped with analytical, communicative, problem-solving skills with broad views of human experience through the study of Social Science.


We aim at promoting cultural sustainability, social justice, equity, equality, national cohesion and excellence in content and character. The Faculty provides high quality inter-disciplinary and multidisciplinary education in Social Sciences facilitated by enhanced learningno-sidebar
Apply now