+234 803 851 4090, +234 908 290 7092, +234 905 646 3036, +234 807 991 7938 centralinfo@noun.edu.ng

Department of Tourism

Faculty of Social Science

Message From the H.O.D

You are welcome to the Department of Tourism and Hospitality management. The B.Sc. degree programme in Tourism Studies in the National Open University of Nigeria is structured to include periods of formal studies in the University, Industrial Training, Fieldwork, and Project work through Open Distant Learning (ODL) structure. The entry mode determines the study period in the University: 100 level candidates spend a minimum of four (4) years while students through Direct Entry spend three (3) years.

You are expected to go on Industrial Training Scheme for six (6) months in any Tourism organization (private or public) during the study. Similarly, there are two compulsory field tours (200 and 300 levels) during running the programme which include local and international tours and are expected to pass some required courses and meet graduation requirements to graduate.

You are welcome into the Department that holds the future of the nation.


The need and demand for requisite human resources for the development and management of natural and artificial tourist attractions in Nigeria necessitated the establishment of the BSc Tourism Studies programme by the former School of Management Sciences (now Faculty of Management Sciences). A proposal was presented through the Directorate of Academic Planning office to the Senate for the consideration, approval, and official commencement of the programme. The approval for establishing the programme was granted following the National Universities Commission’s (NUC) guiding principles in 2008.

The name of the B.Sc. “Tourism Studies” programme was changed to B.Sc. “Hospitality Management” in 2014, to attract prospective students to the programme. It secured an interim accreditation from the NUC in 2012 and secured full accreditation in 2014 and 2018.

In 2016, the B.Sc. Tourism Studies programme was relocated to the School of Social Sciences (now Faculty of Social Sciences), from the former School of Management Sciences, in conformity with the NUC’s guidelines.

The B.Sc. tourism studies programme has been coordinated/headed by several academic staff members of the University since its inception in 2008.

These academic staff members include;

  • G. O. Falade (2008-2011);
  • F. Nnanna (2011-2013);
  • E Jones (2013-2015);
  • S.  Wahab (2015-2016);
  • C. Ebobo (2016-2016);
  • S. Ngoa (2017-2017);
  • M. A. Gana (2018-2021) and
  • Dr. J. Orimaye (2021-Date)




The philosophy of the Bachelor of Science Degree programme in the Department of Tourism and Hospitality Management is to educate men and women to make them professionals in modern business management in the emerging Hospitality and Tourism industry locally and internationally. This philosophy would be achieved by providing research-based knowledge that will aid in promoting the rich potentials in the sector in Nigeria


  • B.Sc. Tourism Studies

Admission Requirements


Graduation Requirements


Apply now